In Your Corner Fighting For You
No Matter What

What are the consequences for multiple Ohio DUIs?

On Behalf of | Jan 12, 2022 | Criminal Defense |

Drunk driving allegations can have significant ramifications. Mere accusations can harm your reputation and threaten your job, but a conviction can hit you with another level of penalties that can be long-lasting and far-reaching, threatening you with jail time, licenses suspension, and other penalties that can restrict the way that you live your life.

Although a first DUI conviction can be harmful, subsequent convictions can be even more damaging. This week on the blog, let’s look at the consequences for multiple DUI convictions in Ohio so that you know what you may be up against and why you need to aggressively fight the charges that you’re facing.

Second DUI conviction

If you’re convicted of a second DUI offense, then you’ll face certain mandatory minimum penalties. Amongst them are 10 days in jail or 20 days in jail if your BAC was .17 or higher. The maximum penalties allowable under the law can be more significant, though. A second conviction could result in 180 days in jail, a fine of $1,625, and a license suspension of up to seven years. You’ll likely also be required to conduct a drug or alcohol assessment that could result in recommended treatment that can be costly to secure.

Third DUI conviction

A third DUI conviction will enhance the penalties considerably. The minimum penalties that will be applied include 30 days in jail. On the more severe end, though, you could be hit with up to a year in jail and $2,750 in fines. Your license could be suspended for up to 10 years, too. As with other DUI convictions, you’ll also have to install an ignition interlock device into your vehicle once your license is reinstated, and you’ll likely be ordered to under substance abuse assessments and treatment.

Fourth and subsequent DUI convictions

A fourth and subsequent DUI offenses are typically considered felonies and can carry the most significant penalties. Here, you could face incarceration for up to five years and a fine in excess of $10,000. You can also face a lifelong driver’s license suspension. These penalties, of course, can have tremendous implications for your future, making it hard to obtain and maintain a job, secure housing, and visit loved ones. It may even have implications in a family law case, making it difficult for you to get custody of your child and obtain parenting time.

Be aware of the lookback period

In order for a DUI charge to be considered a subsequent drunk driving offense, the two offenses have to fall within a certain time period of each other. The timeframe used to be six years, but that timeframe has been expanded to 10 years and can be longer if you refuse a breath test. So, be cognizant of this timeframe and how it may apply to your case.

Defending yourself from subsequent DUI charges

As you can see, there’s a lot on the line in a DUI case, especially if it’s not your first one. That’s why you need to know how to competently navigate the criminal justice system and build evidence that seeks to protect your interests. You may also have to find a way to negotiate with prosecutors in an attempt to avoid the harshest penalties under the law.

What’s important to remember is that you’ll need a criminal defense strategy that is custom-tailored to suit your needs. Fortunately, there are skilled defense attorneys out there who are ready to help you fight to protect your interests. So, if you’re facing DUI charges, then you might want to research your representation options and speak with a legal team that you think is right for you.